India Seeks Air Bubble Agreement With Australia,New Zealand And Eight Other Countries

Indian Civil Aviation Minister Jyotiraditya Scindia on Thursday said, the ministry has sent proposal to Australia,New Zealand and eight other countries to establish Air bubble agreement with them.

“We are waiting to hear from them,” Scindia told Lok Sabha as he was replying to a question asked by IUML’s ET Mohammed Basheer.

The list of 10 countries includes;

  1. Australia
  2. New Zealand
  3. South Korea
  4. Israel
  5. Italy
  6. Philippines
  7. Thailand
  8. Kazakhstan
  9. Saudi Arabia and
  10. Switzerland

Air bubbles, also known as travel bridges or green corridors, remove the waiting period for travelers from certain countries, by allowing the countries to operate their respective carriers.

International flights have been banned by the country since March 22 due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Meanwhile,Air India has been operating flights under flagship Vande Bharat Mission since May and India has established bilateral air bubble arrangements with31 countries including Afghanistan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Canada, Ethiopia, Finland, France, Germany, Iraq, Japan, Kenya, Kuwait, Maldives, Mauritius, Nepal, Netherlands, Nigeria, Oman, Qatar, Russia, Rwanda, Seychelles, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Ukraine, UAE, United Kingdom, USA, and Uzbekistan.